Specialized Information for:

Long-Term Care ConsumersFamily MembersAdvocatesCOVID-19

2014 Consumer Voice Leadership Awards

Click here for 2014 Award Recipients.

About the Awards

Based on your nominations, the National Consumer Voice for Quality Long-Term Care (Consumer Voice) recognizes people who have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to improving the lives of long-term care consumers. Individual members and group members of the Consumer Voice may nominate people for an award. Awards will be presented at our 38th Annual Conference, November 15-18, 2014, in Arlington, Virginia.

Award Descriptions and Criteria

Janet Tulloch Memorial Advocacy Award –This award was established in 2000 after the death of Janet Tulloch, a nursing home resident, author, committed advocate and long-time member of the Consumer Voice’s Board of Directors. It honors a citizen advocate, family caregiver or long-term care consumer (e.g. resident of a nursing home or assisted living facility or an individual receiving home and community-based services) who has worked directly with and for consumers to improve the lives of long-term care consumers. Please note: We are pleased to announce that this is the first year we are accepting nominations of family caregivers for this award.

Cernoria Johnson Memorial Advocacy Award – Cernoria McGowan Johnson (1909-1990) set up the national program of Nursing Home Ombudsmen in 1974. The award in her honor is presented to someone whose work has had national impact or is a model for national excellence and who exemplifies accomplishment in his or her chosen field.

Howard Hinds Memorial Award - The Hinds Award was established in 2005 in memory of the late Howard Hinds, a Tennessee District Long-Term Care Ombudsman. Howard was a true champion for residents and for the ombudsman program as well as a passionate advocate on national issues. The award honors an individual who has effectively advocated for long-term consumers on the local level.

Toby S. Edelman Legal Justice Award – This award was created in 2009 to honor those who, working through or with the legal system, go to extraordinary lengths to achieve justice for long-term care consumers. It is named in honor of Toby Edelman of the Center for Medicare Advocacy, whose work for more than 30 years has influenced and shaped long-term care law, policy and enforcement.

Elma Holder Founder’s Award – Established in 2002 as a lifetime achievement award to honor a person whose life work exemplifies leadership in the field of long-term care reform, the award is also a tribute to Elma Holder, the Consumer Voice’s founder and friend. Elma’s personal commitment, integrity and vision shaped the organization and quality of care and life in long-term care.

The nomination period for the 2014 Consumer Voice Leadership Awards is currently closed and award recipients will be announced soon.

Contact Details

If you have questions about the nomination process or cannot access the nomination form via SurveyMonkey, please contact Amity Overall-Laib, aoveralllaib@theconsumervoice.org or 202-332-2275 ext. 207.