Specialized Information for:

Long-Term Care ConsumersFamily MembersAdvocates

News Article

Back to News Listing

The Department of Justice Launches 10 Regional Elder Justice Task Forces

March 31, 2016

The Department of Justice announced the launch of 10 regional Elder Justice Task Forces. These teams will bring together federal, state and local prosecutors, law enforcement, and agencies that provide services to the elderly to coordinate and enhance efforts to pursue nursing homes that provide grossly substandard care. According to Acting Associate Attorney General Stuart F. Delery, “All too often we have found nursing home owners or operators put their own economic gain before the needs of their residents. These task forces will help ensure that we are working closely with all relevant parties to protect the elderly.” 

The Elder Justice Task Forces will include representatives from the U.S. Attorneys’ Offices, state Medicaid Fraud Control Units, state and local prosecutors’ offices, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), state Adult Protective Services agencies, Long-Term Care Ombudsman programs, and law enforcement. These agencies were picked to be part of the Elder Justice Task Force because they are among those that have a specific expertise in their line of work.

The multi-disciplinary nature of the task forces will assist in identifying nursing facilities that provide grossly substandard care, drawing on the various team members’ access to an array of information and knowledge in the regions and communities where nursing facilities operate. In addition, bringing these agencies together will provide more tools to address complaints about nursing homes or other long-term care providers. Having federal, state and local agencies working together will allow the task forces to find the most effective response for each particular situation.

The 10 Elder Justice Task Forces will be launched in the following Districts: Northern District of California, Northern District of Georgia, District of Kansas, Western District of Kentucky, Northern District of Iowa, District of Maryland, Southern District of Ohio, Eastern District of Pennsylvania, Middle District of Tennessee and the Western District of Washington.

To read the press release in its entirety click here. To learn more about the Justice Department’s Elder Justice Initiative visit http://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/.

Back to News Listing