Specialized Information for:

Long-Term Care ConsumersFamily MembersAdvocatesCOVID-19

2015 Consumer Voice Leadership Award Winners


Thank you to those that nominated individuals and organizations for our annual Leadership Awards. All of the nominees are all extraordinary advocates devoted to improving long-term care services and supports and we appreciate the nominations we received.

The Leadership Awards were presented during the 39th Annual Consumer Voice Conference in Arlington, Virginia and as Lori Smetanka, Interim Executive Director shared, "Consumer Voice is fortunate to honor this year's award winners, a tremendous group of advocates who have made an important difference in the lives of so many residents.  The strength of their conviction and efforts to promote quality care, quality of life, and empowerment of residents is something we can all aspire to replicate."

The winners are:

Janet Tulloch Memorial Advocacy Award

Ann Williams, Georgia Long-Term Care Advisory Council, Family Member and Advocate

Rosemary Pavelko, PEER Advocate and Long-Term Care Advocate


Howard Hinds Memorial Award

Joan Rixom, Ombudsman Volunteer, Florida Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

Scott Bartlett, Ombudsman, Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments, Colorado


Cernoria Johnson Memorial Advocacy Award

Beverley Laubert, Ohio State Long-Term Care Ombudsman


Public Service Award

California Advocates for Nursing Home Reform (CANHR)


Janet Wells Public Policy Leadership Award

Richard Mollot, Executive Director, Long Term Care Community Coalition


Toby S. Edelman Legal Justice Award

Margaret Farley, Farley Law Firm and Kansas Advocates for Better Care


Elma Holder Founder’s Award

Toby Edelman, Senior Policy Attorney, Center for Medicare Advocacy

Congratulations to all of the winners!  


We are extremely grateful for the members of our Governing Board and Leadership Council that volunteered to serve on the Leadership Award Selection Committee to review the numerous qualified nominees and select the award recipients.  We extend our thanks to Lori Walsh, Peter Reed, Brian Capshaw, Carmen Castro, Joe Rodrigues, and Michelle Brown.


Review the 2015 Annual Consumer Voice Conference program  for more information about the award recipients.