Specialized Information for:

Long-Term Care ConsumersFamily MembersAdvocates

News Article

Back to News Listing

Congratulations to the 2017 Consumer Voice Leadership Award Winners!

November 16, 2017

The Consumer Voice is proud to announce the following recipients of its annual leadership awards.  Each of these individuals and organizations has worked tirelessly to improve quality in long-term care and preserve the rights of individuals receiving care and services.  Congratulations to this year's award winners!

The winners are:

Janet Tulloch Memorial Advocacy Award

Thomas Fonseca, Founder, The Fenwick Foundation

This award honors a citizen advocate, family caregiver or long-term care consumer who has worked directly with and for consumers to improve the lives of long-term care consumers.


Howard Hinds Memorial Award

Elaine Wilson, Ombudsman, SOWEGA Council on Aging

This award honors an individual who has effectively advocated for long-term care consumers on the local level.


Cernoria Johnson Memorial Advocacy Award

Nancy Shaffer, Connecticut State Long-Term Care Ombudsman

This award is presented to someone whose work has had a national impact or is a model for national excellence and who exemplifies accomplishments in his or her chosen field.


Janet Wells Public Policy Leadership Award

Justice in Aging

This award recognizes an individual or organization that has provided exemplary leadership in the public policy field in advancing quality of care and quality of life for residents receiving long-term care services.



Toby S. Edelman Legal Justice Award

Erica Wood, Assistant Director, American Bar Association Commission on Law and Aging

This award honors those who work through or with the legal system and go to extraordinary lengths to achieve justice for long-term care consumers.


Elma Holder Founder's Award

Diane Menio, Executive Director, Center for Advocacy for the Rights and Interests of the Elderly (CARIE)

This lifetime achievement award honors a person whose life work exemplifies leadership in the field of long-term care reform.



Special Lifetime Advocacy Award

Judith Mangum, Consumer Advocate

This award recognizes a special individual who has dedicated his/her life to advocated for quality care and quality of life for long-term care consumers.


Public Service Award

Melanie Hicken and Blake Ellis, Journalists, CNN

This award recognizes an individual or organization whose work has profoundly expanded coverage and public understanding of long-term care issues.


Congratulations to all the winners!

For more information about the award recipients, review the 2017 Consumer Voice Conference program and read the press release.

Back to News Listing